Can't find what you are looking for ?

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Uttarakhand - the Land of the Gods" (Dev Bhoomi)

UTTARAKHAND - Land of Gods and Goddesses

On the 8th of November 2000, Uttarakhand became a full-fledged state of India with the formal induction of a separate State Government. The State is carved out of the Uttar Pradesh, which has the largest population in India.
And with this, the people of Uttarakhand have finally achieved their dream of running their own affairs for which they have been fighting for some decades now.

State Info-
Situated in northern part of India, Uttaranchal is surrounded by Tibet & Nepal in the North, Madhya Pradesh in the South, Haryana, Delhi & Rajasthan in the West and Bihar in the East. Dehradun, Mussoorie, Nainital and Ranikhet are the valleys with immense natural beauty.

Uttarakhand was also the ancient puranic term for the central stretch of the Indian Himalayas. Its peaks and valleys were well known in ancient times as the abode of Gods and Goddesses and source of the Ganga River.Today, it is often called "the Land of the Gods" (Dev Bhoomi) because of the presence of a multitude of Hindu pilgrimage spots.

In January 2007, the name of the state was officially changed from Uttaranchal, its interim name, to Uttarakhand, according to the wishes of a large section of its people.
The High Court of the state is in Nanital.
Recent developments in the region include initiatives by the state government to capitalise on Handloom and Handicrafts, the burgeoning tourist trade as well as tax incentives to lure high-tech industry to the state.
The state also has big-dam projects, controversial and often criticised in India, such as the very large Tehri Dam on the Bhagirathi-Bhilangana rivers, conceived in 1953 and about to reach completion.

Land Area- Uttaranchal occupies 1.73% of India’s total land area with 51,125 sq. km.
Population- It has a population of about 6.0 million at 94.4 per sq. km.
Borders- It borders Tibet, Nepal, Himachal Pradesh, and the UP plains districts.
Capital- Dehradun was chosen as the state capital which is about 255 km away from India's capital, New Delhi

Districts: Uttaranchal comprises of 13 districts:-

1. Pithoragarh
2. Almora
3. Nainital
4. Bageshwar
5. Champawat
6. Uttar Kashi
7. Udham Singh Nagar
8. Chamoli
9. Dehra Dun
10. Pauri Garhwal
11. Tehri Garhwal
12. Rudraprayag
13. Haridwar

India celebrates "Unity in Diversity" in all aspects of life, be it religion, society, culture, education, economy and so on. Its awesome air of spirituality is marked by the multiplicity of gods and diverse religious beliefs, generating numerous strands, all wrought together into a knot of sameness in fundamental concepts.
In the same way uttarakhand is also the melting pot of many ethnic groups and castes.

The opportunities for tourism are immense in this state, be it-

1. Pilgrimage Tourism
2. Nature Tourism
3. Wildlife Tourism
4. Adventure Tourism

The major destinations for these are:-


Jim Corbett National Park

If you are adventurous and like tough challenges, you can go for high- and low-altitude trekking, river rafting, para gliding, hang-gliding, mountaineering, skiing, and many others.

No comments: